New Beginings

Hi I am Colleen a Wakka Wakka woman and mother of four. In October 2010 I found out I had an inoperable Brain tumour. It was just another hurdle to overcome and it wasn’t too much of a problem, when I got used to it. However this year the adjuvant care treatment went wrong. What was thought to be oedema (fluid retention) was actually blood clots which culminated in a pulmonary embolism I reacted to the medications and have spent the last few months in and out of hospital with fractures lung problems and auto immune ailments because of the medications reacting to each other. I am facing surgery on my eyes because of the medications not quite working with each other. But I will get through this with God’s help.

This time last year I was in a hospital recovering from a pulmonary embolism. The consequence of not a bad life style but medications and Chemo gone wrong.  I had a blog before chronicling my journey but I deleted it. So now am on the ball again and going to start a fresh and a new.  So now I can look back at what I have been through and am grateful to God and the Medical staff and especially my family and friends who kept me going. I have had to face the hurdle of huge medical bills. $15 hundred dollars a week on medications this luckily dropped down but its a hard thing to do. I got help from friends donating food, money and fundraising for me to pay for bills and to pay for surgery that was needed. Its all be hard but has made me a better person, I at least hope I am a better person.
So some of the posts I have you might not understand, the why and where for. It can be confusing because they won’t follow a generalised flow. They will cover all sorts of issues like how to survive on a disability allowance pay rent pay for medicines, pay for Doctors and raise kids.
I will talk about the horrible issues that have faced my family children and teenagers put in an extraordinary situation. It is not going to be nice. It is not going to be family meetings hugs and tears. It is going to be family fights, dramas then hugs and tears. It is going to be hard to read and even harder to write. But every thing I write my children read even if I am calling them the devil. My children even when I dislike them are my world my previous blog upset my son. I had said at the start if anything upsets you I stop. So I did. My children then told me I was a fool and that they can be upset but that’s alright to just keep going. So I thank them very much for this.
I thank them very much for being the horrid, selfish, loud, rowdy, laughing, impulsive, caring, loving humorous beings that they are. But most of all I thank them for loving me.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

