What the hell is Easter coming to?

Keep your Eggs to yourself if you are Christian seems to be the tone of Easter this year. I was initially shocked on Good Friday to hear comments on the radio they were talking about people travelling for a long week end. Fine but then it took a strange twist when a caller said about his having a big family Good Friday church lunch with the fish. The announcer says well if that’s what you are into! Excuse me if that is what you are into? Isn’t the church and sea food thing part of Easter? Don’t we commemorate the Death of Jesus? Isn’t that what Good Friday is? We as Christians do this, then we have a break or a pause in the Easter Week end and then on Sunday we celebrate the rising of Christ. So lets get this down first – Thursday is Holy the day of the Last Supper. Friday, Christ was crucified on the cross. He was put in the tomb before the sunset as Saturday is the Sabbath for the Jewish faith (Jesus was a Jew). Then on Sunday they opened the tomb as soon as it was sunrise and found the tomb empty. Jesus had arisen. So do you follow me?
So why is this so hard for people to understand?
I have the utmost respect for other faiths and other beliefs but. And her it is…If you don’t believe in the whole Easter story don’t celebrate it. Don’t take the days off. It’s not an extra long week end with chocolate. I have a Jewish friend she partakes of chocolate but doesn’t do it as Easter. She does Passover, I get a lamb dinner from her and she gets Hot cross buns from me. All is good.
Don’t bullshit me with I am an atheist and then have eggs. just get plain chocolates. Oh and while I am at it…Don’t Celebrate Christmas. So back to it. I read with disgust and article the Athiests guide to explaining Easter to your children. Well the article was trying to hard to be hip…and was very snarkastic. She laughingly talks of her child thinking zombie Jesus is cool. Talks of explaining German hermaphrodite Gods who turn chickens into rabbits. She only left out Ishtar and all of that. (Ishtar Babylonian Goddess, pronoun Easter Fertility thus rabbits and chickens).
Yes we as Christians did take the icons from pagans in their PR drive to sell the Crucifixion they did the same with Easter. But getting back to my point you can’t have it both ways.
I have had enough. Okay hardware shops are open, auto shops, cinemas and fast food outlets. Where is the acknowledgement in the reason for the days off the honour?
The honour brings me to another point of rant. Leading up to Easter as ANZAC days is just after it we are being bombarded with that. People calling talk back and letters to the editors all saying the ANZAC means more to them than Australia day and Easter. What? Did the ANZACs die for our sins? Isn’t it enough that we have zombie Jesus who has rabbits that lay eggs? I would and do understand that ANZAC is more important to Australia than Australia day. But realistically White Australia won’t give up the Australia Day long week end.
Back to Easter. So is it irrelevant in todays society? Do we need it? If we don’t then lets not celebrate. As a Christian Nation we have the holiday. If I lived in a Muslim nation I wouldn’t expect to celebrate it. But would have to respect the norms of that nation. Most people that dis on Easter are people who if you asked them would say oh yeah I’m a Christian, and yet they don’t have the faith. to be lapsed in faith is fine but don’t let that become the norm

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

