Mad Black Women

I had a blog that was called “the Blog of a mad black woman”. Well it was meant about me being mad, batty, silly a bit of a play on my brain tumour. It was all about my journey with the inoperable brain tumour. Some people saw it as another angry black woman blog. Well can I say, yes I do get sick of the mad black woman syndrome. Some are angry for different reasons and great good on them for getting it out. Some are mad about the injustices in the world. Kudos to you. Some just seem to me to be crazy mad. They hate this and they hate that and I don’t know what to do when I read them.
But the one thing that really worries me with this whole mad black women syndrome (oh that is my term, not anyone else’s) is that we are not allowed to disagree. I have read blogs on Aboriginal sovereignty and the writer will not allow anyone to disagree the responses to these are some times rude. I have read blogs where one writer is running down the writer of another blog that may disagree with them. Oh come on this is just too much for this little black duck.
I do believe that we are all individuals and are entitled to our own opinions. one thing that does annoy me is the belief by white people that we (black people) all have to agree. We all have to think the same. Do we expect that of them? Do they expect themselves to do that? of course not. It is just much easier to put us all in little boxes and keep us there. But our boxes are getting dented and battered by out own arguing on the inside. Come on lets disagree but please be polite about it and let snot run each other down over it or cast aspersions on each others Culture, Colour, beliefs. Lets not be branding people coconuts or apples.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

