Yep Still not dead

Well hot on the heels of my last post we had a rather funny incident. Ash ran into an old teacher. Teacher was very happy to see Ash. Asked her how she was, how was school and where she was living. Ash responded that she was at home. Teacher comments that, that is good and Is Toby and Bindi Taking care of her. Ash says no mum is. Teacher is of course aghast and horrified that she had said such things. apologised profusely to Ash. As I came up it was more uncomfortable for the poor lady. She hugged me, talked about how well I looked and tried to talk around what she had just been chatting to Ash about. I calmed her down said it was alright. and we all moved off rather strangely and uncomfortably.
The problem wasn’t that she didn’t know that all was not well the poor darling had last seen Ashley when the Doctors were saying that I had less than 6 weeks to live. Obviously I proved the doctors wrong and am still here. I am doing well and am looking great.
But when you look too well people forget what you have been through, they think its all hunky dory and move on. Okay I am not on deaths door. I still have the prognosis of I could go in a second or in 20 years. I have survived the worst 12 months of my life where I said good bye to my children about 9 times. I waited death to come take me but didn’t.
So if you see me or ask the kids about me, don’t be embarrassed to find out I am alive, just be grateful. Don’t worry we won’t hate you for asking the question we will thank you for caring. So don’t worry, just ask and do the same of others in your life you suffer or are ill. Ask how they are going. The worst that can happen is you are shame for a couple of minutes the best thing that could happen is you have made some one feel cared for.
Thank you for reading

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

