Hard Times and Hard Luck

Things are getting mighty tight here at the ranch. The washing machine died about 4 weeks ago. We have been doing all the washing by hand (by we, I mean me). The usual scrub some sunlight soap on the marks and stains rub them, stick the stuff in the wash tub with the soap already swished around and then scrub a dub dub. Rinsing out and soaking them in cold water with vinegar to get all the soap out. But this has been driving me crazy. But the thing that annoys me to no end is the “I have to have this uniform for tomorrow” and its 10:30 at night. Oh joy. So I have to do the scrub scrub. Now I found this bad enough with a washing machine and would make sure it was a decent load in the washer but when its hand wash I feel the same way. It has to be enough to warrant not wasting washing powder. So I am the fool doing it. Not only do we do this but…wait for it….they don’t always wring the clothes out properly and just want to stick it all in the dryer. My poor dryer is suffering from this and it will die a slow painful death if this continues. I hang things on the line outside. Yes we have an outside line. But oh the excuses. The basket is too heavy. It makes my clothes hard. Well princesses harden up!

Doing the towels is a killer, putting them in hot water to make sure all the body oils are off them. Soak them, then scrub them. They just soak up the water and it’s hard to wring them out. They just about pull down the washing line with their weight. I won’t have them in the dryer until they are only damp. Then they can be put in to soften up a bit. I don’t use fabric softeners, because they are not good for material.

Sheets and pillow slips. While they are lighter than the towels they cause me just as much trauma. Making sure again to have the water hot, who wants sweaty pillowslips and sheets? Yik doing this they have a tendency to want to run. So with some of the sheets they have a great mottled tie dyed effect. Or at least that is what I tell the kids. Luckily for me I don’t really go in for sheet sets. If I get them I split them up with a basic colour set. Something floral I might team with a plain yellow set.

The youngest wants a wash board for when she actually does some washing, because she thinks they are cool. Well I think maybe I should get her one, but don’t know where to get them and I figure if you are going to do that, well you might as well go down to coolwynpin creek and wash them down there on the rocks. Actually I wouldn’t let her do that, because it would upset the platypus’ and I like to watch them play.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

