Trying to work again

After a year off its time to get back to work. I have kids to support a lot of medical bills and the usual stuff all building up. Started working three half days a week that seemed to be going fine. I have some Issues with a manager who seems to think that negativity and sarcasm are the same thing. I believe maybe she has a tainted view of my but hell that’s her problem. Every time I mention and Aboriginal issue this woman jumps in with “that’s not your concern that’s Close the Gap” So we have a few problems there.

I was hauled into her office last week and was told that a complaint had been made about me. Me? little ol me? So she proceeds to pull out three sheets of paper with complaints made by some humans who were in my group at a planning day.

The reason for the use of the word human? Well these three humans objected to me calling them young ladies, and I did on occasion call them girls. This was offensive. I can understand that to a degree but really a formal complaint?

These humans also complained about my talking about boat people it was a dig at the Abbot regime and the management. The precious little ones complaint that I upset the two workers from refugee health in our group. These two ladies agreed with me and had no problem, strangely as my complaint is so formal and serious and is being investigated the lovely ladies in Refuge health haven’t been asked how they felt.

The precious humans complained about a comment I made when I could not remember the new an acronyms for a position that had changed while I was away. Again people in those positions were laughing and we all said some silly things. But apparently I upset them.

These frivolous complaints and some other issues with a manager are making my return to work difficult. I am being micro managed by this manager which is upsetting my work but also annoying the hell out of the guy who I am answerable at this point in time. When I returned they didn’t quite know where to put me. I am funded and have a contract under close the gap. But they have finally been using some funding they kept and put in for more there was no room for me.

But I am enjoying the scope of the project I am working on and really don’t want to leave this area to go back to the Close the Gap unit as the Black politicking was enough to drive me crazy before and I think it will be the same only worse. The organisation seems to be deskilling its staff. Nothing seems to be getting done all newness is jumped on all in fear as to what is going to happen with the Federal budget.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

