Brain Tumours

The increase of Brain Tumours is something that we need to worry about. Especially in the Aboriginal Community. We have the lowest diagnosis rates of cancer yet we have the highest death rates. We don’t talk about cancer. The big C is a no-no. we just keep it under wraps. Like it’s a shame thing. But it’s not it is time we got out there and yelled out no more. We need to do something. We have the quit smoking programs and breast screen but what about our brains? We look at people as they get older and suffer dementia and just accept it. We don’t think twice about acquired brain injury. We don’t recognise the name but we just accept that so and so has gone funny from too much drugs or drinking.

Brain Tumours can come on anyone but they are becoming more common in the over 40 age group. I think this is a lot to do with punch drunk, saddle drunk and tackle drunk. I am not forgetting that domestic violence plays its part. When I was diagnosed they said they didn’t know if it was from Domestic violence or all the years I had played soccer. But now we know it’s out there we really need to focus on it. Now is the time to make the difference. Make your kids were helmets. Protect their brains. I don’t advocate not playing rough sports but we have to be careful and mindful about it. Every time you get a big knock to the head go to the Doctor get it checked out. Any changes in your vision or if you have a lot of head aches get it checked out by the Doctor.

For our older kids or young adults let’s encourage drink in moderation not desperation. Preferably lets not drink at all but if you do, do it responsibly and take care of each other when you are out. Don’t let a friend stagger or fall. Don’ let a friend get into a fight. Watch out take care. We are one mob we have to watch out for each other. I guess I will have to mention drugs. They just totally fuck up your brain. Don’t use them and don’t believe the crap that marijuana is natural and good for you. Just like tobacco too much can damage the brain cells. In the countries where it is an indigenous plant it was a sacred plant used to bring on visions and for healing purposes. Not just sitting at home with a coke bottle bong and messing yourself. Harder drugs well if you are stupid enough to use them you get caught in all kinds of problems addiction, leads to problems and it’s the taxpayer and your family that have to clean up the mess . I have no sympathy for those who use hard drugs.

These all can lead to Brain Tumours and there is not enough information or research on them some tumours are quick and deadly and some are slower. But all have one hell of an impact on your life. When my tumour was found I was told that I could go in a second or in 20 years. 20 years being the average for someone with my kind of tumour if nothing goes wrong.

All sorts of things have gone wrong, chemo not working meds not working and all the associated problems this has shortened my life but its no the end. I am not going to give in. they say Terminal. I say ain’t no bus stopping here and I will keep on saying that. that is my mantra. I can’t afford to give in

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

