how to return to work the hard way

I have returned to work after a year and talk about drama! well first there is the filling out of forms to say that I a well enough to work. then getting a letter from the GP. I asked him if he would add to it that I had Tourette’s s I could get away with swearing. Of course he wouldn’t. Next we have lots of meeting about returning to work what are you capable of doing and where do you fit in. In my case they didn’t put me back in my original position I was in a policy and planning area for a couple of weeks then I went into my old position.

We had to fill out forms as to if I am capable of climbing stairs what I can and can’t lift. I told them that culturally I need a wall behind me as I have had my head cut open I need to make sure the evil spirits don’t enter so I have to wear a hat at all times until my hair grows back proper way, as was told to me by my nunkuris We all have our old ones and our beliefs and that is strong with my mob if anything happens to the head you have to watch out as this will leave an open door for the spirits to enter. So one would think that it wouldn’t be a hard issue to give me a desk with my back to the wall. But guess again.

I was told I was going into one corner that was good, no one behind me and a wall. but some bright spark decided then I couldn’t interact with the other Murri ones in my team. Like they couldn’t see me and call out or we visit each other.  I now have a desk near the front door where the cold blasts me each time someone comes in or out and a partition behind me. I have had people come around the corner and run straight into it. Its rather funny that being culturally aware and recognising my needs is causing a work place health and safety issue! Sometimes I just shake my head and wonder and those who are in higher management positions do they even know or understand what is going on?

Already I have had a complaint put in about me using the term young ladies and girls. This is an overreaction but  I guess we have to do what we can. I am all for the action taken by the American Hibernian association against Walmart. They say that selling shirts that say “of course I’m drunk I’m Irish” etc. are actually stereotyping and insulting to the Irish.

But back to the salt mine. I am kind of settling in all right lots of new people to meet and corrupt. I hope I can keep it up. I started 3 days a  week 9-1:30 now I am doing five half days and some days its a drain. just getting used to things. But also feeling useless with some things, like if I drop a spoon or something I have to call someone to pick it up. shame job and big lazy but that’s the way it is.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

