Eye See Deadly People….well soon

Under the cover of darkness, literally, I am writing this. I have finally had my second surgery for my eye. So I have my pirate patch on the eye. The eye didn’t really want to follow the guidelines.

The first eye, the right was my bad eye. I was losing the sight in that one really quick. It took months for the swelling to go down but I had the patch taken off and could see a bit. It was a beautiful vision. If you have had cataracts you know what I mean when you finally see colours again. The world isn’t on grey scale. I had cataracts because of the medications and the interactions and it all going to hell in a little row boat. But because it took so long to heal I had to wait forever for the next surgery.

I go into the surgery being a big brave bear, I had had the other eye done this was going to be a piece of cake. Had the drops they numb the eye and make things blurry. But this time they didn’t give me a local. I wanted that needle at the side of my eye so bad. Why? Because I am lying there quite calmly then I see a needle coming at my eye. I yell out what the shit! the Doctor calmed me down and the nurse. They didn’t want to take the risk so no needle at the side. Now I understood this was told this but no where in the explanation, did they mention that I would be able to see what was happening.

So much calmed down I then let them proceed. Once the bright light shone in my eye I couldn’t see anything. It was a bit of a drama and they had to change lenses while operating because something’s you just can’t be prepared for. I have one lense the is slightly different to the other, so I have to get used to seeing. So when my dressing is changed I have to sit in the eye clinic practicing to match up the two lenses.

So five days later I am still getting the dressing changed and I have to wear dark glasses to help with the protection and when they finally take the dressing off I Will be wearing for at least 6 weeks
cataract glasses

untitled

But it could be worse I could look like this

cataract girl

All in all I am so happy that I can see. at the moment its only out of one eye. But soon the other eye will be open and see again.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

