Too Smart For You

Do you ever have that feeling of being a veritable oasis of knowledge in a desert of stupidity? I hate the way that you get looked at because you have a brain and aren’t afraid to use it. I see people white and black threatened by intelligent Aboriginals. White ones claim all the credit, well if they hadn’t come here you wouldn’t be allowed that education (forgetting that they denied us of it for years). There are those who think that its the Non-Indigenous blood that makes us intelligent. Well got news for you, we are a smart race. Would could not and would not have survived this country if we were dumb or lazy. We would not have survived the government sanctioned genocide if we were dumb.

The trouble with being smart is that we also cop it sometimes from our own mob. They say that anything about our Aboriginality or Culture we learnt from the white man in the Universities. Just no pleasing some people. I know my mob I speak language from my mother I learnt what she had to tell me and my grandfather. I don’t need some fool telling me I am a different mob. Talk about divide and conquer. You see too many of our mob jumping to what ever the anthropologist says, thinking that they will get money, a pot of gold waiting at the end of the Land Rights Rainbow.

But back to the smartness. Nothing wrong with reading a history book, nothing wrong with talking to Elder to find out the past stories. As Bob Marley says “If you knew your history, you would know where I’m coming from, and you wouldn’t have to ask me, who the hell do I think I am.”

I heard the stories from my mum I then went out and read about the stories she told me found more information and educated myself on it. I am proud to say that I am an educated Blackfulla. We need more of them. Not stuck away hidden in the universities but out there telling our stories getting our stuff across and showing the way. I am proud to know the likes of Sandra Phillips, Dale Kerwin, Leesa Watego and others. I want more of us working on history and telling the truth.

I want more Doctors and Nurses who know our culture and understand us. I want more teachers. Hell I want it all and we should have it. We should be proud of the achievements of our mob and not put people down,

We have to stop those from running down smart murris and we have to share and learn and pass that passion for our kids. teach them the importance of it and that as a race we are smart, we smartarse too, be we are smart. Keep the kids in the schools help them get trades and just encourage learning.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

