Eye Spy

Latest check with the hospital my last eye surgery to remove cataract went well. All is Clear. I now can see beautifully out of both eyes. But The doctor is not willing to do further surgery yet. I had major damage from the cataracts that was caused by the  bad Chemo and drugs.

My recovery time is too long so the doctor is not willing to do the surgery yet. Am I  upset about this? No, I am not, I am sick of surgeries hospitals and pain. I am happy to live with this and let my eyes heal properly and wait for a while. He says maybe a year. It took about two months for the first eye to heal properly. The second eye is still healing, there is some scratching but that’s part of it all. Again it all boils down to my health and I heal slowly. But I am so grateful to be able to see. I can drive again. I can see the mess in my house that the kids hoped I wouldn’t see.

But one of the strange things is that with my brain tumour one of the issues I had was photosensitivity, so now after months of seeing grey or nothing the photosensitivity has gone! One doctor said that sometimes these things happen. It’s the brain, that incredible muscle. It got used to seeing in grey, it got used to not seeing and fighting that to try to see, so suddenly when it’s all bright the eye celebrated with me!

With the first eye they were worried when they took off the padding that I would be hurt by the light. Yes it hurt, but after a while and weeks of wearing the dark glasses my good eye became used to the light. So when the second eye was done, well all I can say is it was a party of lights and colours in my head.

So now I have to wait for the healing and then get some more surgery to repair the damage done by the cataracts on steroids and I could lose the sight in one eye to save it. So I am very happy to wait for a while before facing the decision of that.

So wear your shades look cool protect your eyes. Oh but please take your sunny’s off when talking to people as its so rude.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

