Grand Parents day

mum and dad

 

How do you celebrate grandparents day without grandparents. I loved my grandfather and Granya. I adored my great aunts and learnt so much from them and especially love.  My mum passed away years ago. She was close and had a wonderful relationship with my eldest Daughter, she had a relationship with my niece  Christine.  But as for the army that followed she sadly passed away and didn’t get to meet them. I remember how excited she was when I was pregnant with my big bear, she passed away a few weeks before he was born.My Da was wonderful with my kids, with all his grandkids.

IMG_0002

 

He was the strong male role model in their life. But with this my children missed out on grandparents from their father’s side. All four of my kids love Bob. They adore him. He just treats them equally. I joked with my son today about grandparents day, and he said he would only be interested in sending love to Bob the others concurred with him. They said they knew that any resent contact with their father had been at Bob’s instigation. He made trips and holidays bearable.  When he wasn’t there trips were worse.

I wont go into great detail about the issues the kids had. But when Bob was around they felt safe. I must admit I felt better. I have a lot of respect for that man. I regret my children didn’t have a continuous relationship with him, but that is the problem of their father. Not taking them on a regular basis. Only bothering with them every now and then. I would like the kids to get Bob’s contact details to talk to him, they won’t because they think that will then mean  contact with others they would rather not deal with. But such is life.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

