A Star is born

Today is the big day the first night of the Black Electric. It is the end of year performance for ACPA.  I am going to watch my girl be up there on the stage and perform, like she was meant to do. She was born with stars in here eyes and hope in her heart that she could become an actor.

She has had a bit of a rough time this year but showing the true style of a professional she had put it in a box and will focus on her performance. She will be showing professional and dignified behaviour way beyond her years.

I guess I will be emotional, I have been told that some mum’s are when they see their child do a professional performance. But I don’t know, I have been to too many high school and community theatre performances. But this I am told is the start of the big time. I hope all the effort and practice has paid off.

I hope all the students do well I hope they leave all their jitters behind and get down and do a great job. We need to have good Aboriginal performers out there. We need the next generation to come up and continue the push on TV and have us in regular roles on TV. More work for our actors. More of Redfern Now and Gods of Wheat Street.

I hope I am not aiming to high, but really I don’t think I am I think my girl will be brilliant. I hope the other students are good and I hope their parents are as proud of them as I am of my girl

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

