I find you aggressive

Have you noticed lately that the term aggressive is becoming more popular when talking about Aboriginal women. We are becoming a threat so the easy way to deal with it is to put us down.

In the 80’s & 90’s if a white woman was going ahead in life and becoming a manager or what ever, she was a ball breaker, a dyke a man hater, she was all kinds of this and that accept a hard-working woman.

A man does something he is assertive a woman does the same thing and she is breaking new ground, if your lucky other wise you are aggressive and an angry woman.

But back to us. I was called aggressive the other day by another Aboriginal male. Did I worry? no. Why? because any Aboriginal female who disagrees with him he says is aggressive or angry. But he doesn’t use the same terminology with a White female. Go figure!

Well I did figure it out. Rosie Kunoth Monks was called a hero by some when she said “I am not a problem” But to others she was an angry black woman.  G 20 things happening all around me and again I hear it. Men get up and speak Women speak and let’s be honest quite often we speak better. They were dubbed as angry women with a chip on their shoulder. Now some of these speakers were eloquent young women, who were still grass-roots and maybe they are a threat to the old regime but why put them down?

Are we so jealous that we can’t bear to think that an Aboriginal woman can be articulate and courageous? That our men are scared that they didn’t think of those one liners or that speech? Have they forgotten that we fought the battle too. The fight for rights was not just men. They had us women there with them not just cooking the food we were standing there beside them We had to often let our men speak because white society doesn’t hold women in high esteem like we did traditionally. So we had to play their game. But did it go to the heads of our men? Do they think they are higher than us? do they think all we can do is pop out babies, cook and clean, supply them with money for them to big note themselves and speak for us?

Hell no. We need to move on we need to work together so next time an Aboriginal man calls you angry or aggressive tell him he ain’t seen nothing yet.  I want to tell them to wait until I rip out their spine through their mouth then tell me I am angry.

I have had one person to my face say that she loves that I am an angry black woman. I said please don’t use that term I am passionate. I know you mean the fire in the belly I will fight for my family and have and fight for my people. But the term is being used in the wrong way as an insult.

Once an angry young woman or man often meant they had the fire in their belly they were going to take on the world and make it a better place.

The power of words that now we insult. as I said its used to many times to describe our women who won’t put up with the male dominated bullshit. I love ready some of the wonderful works of women who stand up for themselves, women and their mob. and I hate that these same women are then branded aggressive.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

