Job Seeking

How do you start to look for a job when you are middle aged with a brain tumour? This is what I am facing now. I believe I have too much to give to sit back on a pension. I have too much life in me.

But the reality of life is that in my current role I cannot perform the duties required and there is no place for me. They are being good about it. I would love to give praise to one person but I can’t. She is going beyond the extra mile to help.

So what does one do? Well I am not ready to go on the scrap heap I am ready for a new start in a new environment and share all the learning I have. I have done courses to help women through Domestic and family violence.  I have done a great course on women’s sexual health. I am looking for somewhere I can share these things and more. I have knowledge on how to teach younger ones on how to budget, how to prepare good cheap healthy meals. I have so much to share with the world.

I want to share with the young ones that they need to learn stay in school get that training or university course so they can be builders, doctors’ teachers. I want them to realise their full potential.

I want to see to the mental health of our mob, and to not see us slip through the cracks. I want us to be educated to learn that it’s not shame, to talk about your feelings and sometimes you need to reach out and get someone else to help you carry the load.

There are a lot of I want’s there. But I don’t believe I survived everything I have been through just to sit back at home and struggle by on the pension. I want, nay need to be able to do something to help my people.

That has been my driving force for many years to get out there and help us. Help those who need it. Help those that are lost. Help those who have Identity issues and let them learn where they belong.

But all this depends on me being able to get a job and fingers crossed I will get a job.

Thank you

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

