Tis the season to be lucky!

I am driving home just a little bit over the speed limit. Okay Yep I was speeding it is a great stretch of road, along the bush, a nice back road and I was doing 100km in an 80 zone. My Rosary Beads go flying off my rear view mirror. I caught it, very proud of that achievement.

I tried to hang them back up again and I swerved onto the other lane, luckily no traffic coming my way. BUT…Next thing I know…blue lights flash behind me. Oh shit. I was sure I was done for.

I pull over the officers get out of their car, one walks around my car the other comes to me asks me my name. Asks if I have had any alcohol or drugs, and to see my driver’s licence.  So while he is asking my things like what’s your date of birth and who owns the car, etc.

Then he asks me Why I swerved, was their anything or impediment in my way. So, of course me, being me, I can’t keep my big mouth shut. I say “I was speeding and my Rosary Beads came flying off and I was trying to put them back on”.  The voice inside my head says you numbnut, why are you saying that. I had visions of being booked, taken to the lock up.

He looks inside my car, Oh shit he’s going to check for drugs I don’t have any, but I thought that’s what’s going to happen they are going to plant something on me. Find something wrong with the car. Anything to take me away.

He reaches down to my Rosary Beads on the seat and double wraps them around my toll tag, and says “there that should hold them”.  He stepped back and said “Merry Christmas”. He then walked back to his car. The other officer looked in askance, but the other one, just got back into the car, so he had to go too.

So I was lucky. Lucky I didn’t cause an accident and lucky that I had a nice officer.

Thank You

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

