Happy New Year

Before we bid adieu to 2014 I thought I would reflect and give thanks for my blessings.

I would not have made it through the  year without the love and support of so many people. Many of my friends gave financially and gave food. They gave love and support through medical drama after medical drama, after medical drama.

So a big thank you to God for seeing me through. Thank you to my Children who have had it hard for a couple of years, it’s got to suck to know your mum is dying. Not to mention the times I have and the times that Doctors thought I wouldn’t pull through. To my family (that I talk to) who have been there and helped in so many ways.

Let me thank the wonderful people in my life, Anne, who wouldn’t allow me to curl up and die, when sometimes that’s how I felt, and to Kerry, who helped me just because she is that kind of loving person, and with that the rest of the family. Jenny who is my rock and her family. Deb, who always kept me grounded and didn’t beat around the bush. Cassandra, who made me laugh so much it hurt but was there. Andrea, who is so beautiful inside and out. Helena and her entire crew who gave financial, love and encouragement. Lesley who is just Lesley, What more can I say.

John who the only time I have ever heard that man lose his cool was over me. Tricia who I didn’t really get to know but she was there with my sisterhood. Angie who came new to the sisterhood and is now a firm Tidda. Charlene and Lucy, they come as a package deal but they have been wonderful with support and care. Vera who always makes me feel happy.  Lesa who was just so wonderful and listened and helped, especially with locks. Kate, who among other things gave me one of the best things while I was sick, a letter from her children to me, hoping I would get well. Little Lucy who reminds me that the world is a good place. Susan Who is warped like me and offers so much love. Sandra, who is the Lion King. Rosalie, who has been a part of my life for so many years. Irene, who I just clicked with and love her to hell and back and so do the kids. She’s a cheeky one, but you gotta love that too.

I have to thank Angela for clothes she donated to help me sell at a suitcase sale. Tarsh who is just as crazy as me and gave me a ham, to help with our Christmas.

I also have to give an extra special shout out to my care co-ordinator Helen PJ, who helped me get to appointments, made sure all the doctors talked to each other and pulled me through so much and put me into hospital so many times.

There are others who would have helped those out so that they could help me and my family out. I thank all the behind the scenes people. That includes the doctors the nurses the paramedics the orderlies, tea ladies dinner and lunch and breakfast ladies at the hospital. The social workers, the family friends the families of my children’s friends who allowed them to spend time at their homes so they could have some normality.

I hope everyone has a great new year. May 2015 be the year you reach your goals in life and that happiness finds you.

Thank you

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

2 responses to “Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

