How Do You Bare Your Soul

How do you go about talking about past happenings. Sometimes it can be a healing for the Soul and for those around you or part of it.

So many people keep the hurt hidden on the inside, they do so because they don’t want to upset the apple cart. Don’t want to hurt family members. Don’t want to deal with the denials from others. Can’t cope with the judgement of family and friends. It is a hard thing.

When you are a parent it’s hard to talk about issues because you don’t want to upset not just the family but your children. You want to protect them from the horrors that are out there. I am not talking terrorists, I am talking violence and sexual abuse within a family unit, or extended family.

How do you raise it? Who do you talk to? I pose this question because as time draws near you have to release and heal. You have to talk about these issues before it is too late. I have recently been caught in the middle of a family issue and it hurt me. It was almost like I had to pick sides. Do you wait for someone to pass then speak up? Do you keep it a secret within a few?

As I face my own mortality, I will have to tell my children some unpalatable truths. This will hurt and harm them but they need to know.  I will pick the way and the how it will happen but I do know it needs to happen for their sakes as well as mine.

The hurting will go away, the pain will ease but it’s better to be upfront in a way to talk about these issues and not hide them. Healing needs to start with yourself, your soul. Better for family to hear it from you, rather than innuendo and gossip within the family or community.

Our Souls are powerful, they hold so much and they can heal. They are just as important to us as breathing. The Soul is a beautiful thing and needs to be regarded and protected. Sometimes that means talking about issues, that you wouldn’t normally want to talk about.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

2 responses to “How Do You Bare Your Soul

  • Kate Bowles

    These are really hard questions, especially with children, especially when you have to live within the possibility of your own passing. There’s just no easy answer. So I really just wanted to leave this comment to thank you for writing this, it is personally very meaningful to me right at the moment, in my own family situation. That the soul needs to be regarded and protected: that feels like exactly the way to put it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

