The End of an Era

So the time has come to bid adieu to my job. Last day. It went well I was overwhelmed by the love and support from other staff members. But now its time to face the future.

Time to look for new adventures, new trials and tribulations, facing an uncertain future. I will find a job soon. I believe there is a reason for everything and me going is a the reason to seek other opportunities.

Now I have to continue the search for a new job, I need to support my children and my medical bills. I also have to keep reminding everyone that my life is not over. I have Cancer, I am terminal, but isn’t everyone? each second brings us all closer to death.

So I will not curl up and die, I will work, and I will do more volunteering, which I must admit I had slackened off a bit while sick. But while this heart beats and this tired broken body can still get out of bed I will greet each day with love and blessings. Knowing that I have a purpose in this world, that purpose is to help and educate people.

I will continue to fight the good fight for Aboriginal equality and my Irish mouth will continue to decry the atrocities, they have befallen. They have similar histories, both affected by the English. So I keep my red black and yellow and my green white and gold. Hold my head up high and be the person I am meant to be.

Both sides of my family have felt the oppression and I want to preach, educate and stop it. I also want to do my bit, ever so small towards keeping mother earth healthy for my children and their children.

But this won’t get me a job the passion will and I will keep the passion going and pass it down to my children to keep fighting for what is right and what is moral and ethical.

Thank you.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

