The first

So it’s my first week of being unemployed. It’s only Tuesday and I am already bored. Spent Monday at an interview then off to Centrelink. Oh the joys of that.  Waiting forever. As if the staff at Centrelink didn’t have enough to do they now have to help with medicare payments. I walk into the office and had to stand at the door until the Centrelink Lady called me forward, asked me what it was about and directed me to which area I had to sit. The row of self-help desks full, people sitting near waiting for their turn to go on the computer. People sitting in another area, waiting to use the self-serve phone. My God it’s awkward. It has to be so hard on the staff there to have to do so much and to deal with clients who get cranky.

Today I am having a rest day, a day of just me, sit back read to so pottering about, kill time watch some episodes of shows, gotta catch up on that!

Tomorrow will start my reign of terror. I am going through the house from top to bottom, cleaning walls, ceilings, chucking out anything that the kids don’t put away (insert evil laugh here!). Make them scared and go through all their belongings and organise. It will fill in my time and make the house feel fresh again. I will also go through the wardrobe, see what needs to be killed and what is alright. I am going to borrow a water blaster and clean the outside and the driveway, hell everything will be pristine.

imagesM6QIIQ1A

I will also organise all my work things, things that I have accumulated over the years so that I am ready to take them with me when I get a new position. I am going to be totally anal and put them into categories and make sure that my resources are with the training manuals, as over the years I have had sometimes to pull things out just to get some information and then being naughty not put it back in its rightful home.

This should all take a couple of days then I will start on making more jewellery to sell at the markets. get my booking for places at different markets and start selling jewellery, clothes, odds and sods, well anything that isn’t nailed down to the ground.

I will try to catch up with some friends and enjoy their company and laugh, joke and maybe even sing. Why the hell not as it’s a brand new start and its all firsts; first day of unemployment, first visit to Centrelink, first chance to spring clean in ages, first time to catch up with some friends in years. So bring on all the firsts, including a first day at a new job.

Thank you

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

