Sorry, if you thought I forgot “The Apology”

I didn’t forget The Apology to the Stolen Generation, I wanted to wait until I saw what the media and the public did for it. It was a bit like the report on the Closing The Gap. Just mentioned in passing by the main media. A bit of a mention because of the football. But nothing really. A lot of tweets about it and a lot of ignorance around it and some outright stupid tweets about Aboriginal people. The original speech was so heartfelt and true.

http://www.australia.gov.au/about-australia/our-country/our-people/apology-to-australias-indigenous-peoples

But what has happened since? Well Kevin Rudd who gave the original speech, lamented the meagre progress in Indigenous welfare.

http://www.smh.com.au/national/seven-years-after-indigenous-apology-kevin-rudd-says-improvements-meagre-20150213-13dwqh.html

 

So how does this affect us on the ground? well on the day, I had someone tell me they went to a Sorry Day morning tea. I responded, you mean anniversary of the apology, Sorry day is totally different. Then went on to explain. The response to this was “Why does it mean so much to you?” I said “Why isn’t it important to you?”. Then went on again explaining our history. the person then changed his tune and said its shocking, you are sitting here opposite me and you have been through all this. Why aren’t we told the truth in school? Well that is a damn good question. But as long as we have vocal and proud people speaking out and talking about it, we will slowly chisel away at the problem. We get told to get over it. We ask how can we when you don’t acknowledge the truth.

I have said before the problem with dealing with Aboriginal issues is like glad wrap, you can see through it but its just too hard to open it up.

So lets work together to member the stolen generations, lets work together to heal the wounds and part of that is learning the true history of this nation.

Thank you

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

