Cyclone Marcia

Yet again we are hit with bad weather, it amazes me how many people are surprised by it. We live in a tropical area, and cyclones and storms are part and parcel of it all.

Maybe we need to remember that, but no each year it comes as a surprise. We have people stocking up on goods, that’s okay, but why are you buying heaps of milk to put in your fridge when you have a high chance of loosing power?

At the start of the season make your kid, have food that is in tins, long life milk and bottles of water. get a little gas stove and make sure you have enough batteries to put in your radio, make sure you have packing tape for your windows. Keep your phone charged so that when the power goes off you can still use it. It’s not rocket science to just be prepared. Have all your documents in a safe place so that if you have to move out you have all those things with you. Yes you can pack up your sentimental things but just be aware you might not have room for them in your car or in the emergency venues.

At the moment I am making sure all the washing is done and in the dryer, as we have a bad storm headed our way, and I don’t want to be without power and dirty uniforms come Monday. I am ensuring that the kids are safe and the car is safe. I don’t intend to do any driving except if needed. I don’t want to be another fool on the roads, with all the flooding around the place.

So hopefully this storm will come and go and not do too much damage.

I pray for those who have faced the cyclone and I am gladdened that we had no deaths, but we still have to face the rain and the flooding and God willing no one will die, or be injured. Its bad enough that so many will be homeless. Some people in Brisbane are still waiting for repairs from the November storms, I pity them, as they will have to face it all again.

My main prayers are for the homeless who is taking care of them? who is watching over them? not all of them can get to shelters, and some don’t feel welcome at the shelters and feel the stigma of society, so they don’t enter.

Wherever they are I pray for them and hope they are safe.

Thank you

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

