The start of a new begining

I have left my job behind, no job in site but I am happy. I am studying, that will give me a few extra skills when going for a job. It also stops me being stuck in the house and becoming isolated, that would make it too easy to give in and to follow the temptation of depression. I need to be doing something for the sake of my sanity. I need to be doing something for the sake of my health as I keep reminding everyone I am not ready for the scrap heap.

I want to be a walking talking example of not giving in. Life is too short to let it go. SO hold on to it and do what you have to. I would love to have the money to live each day as if it were my last, as the signs say. But what would I do? I certainly can’t travel as that would depend on my youngest having a passport. She doesn’t and she is dependant on her father signing a form. Since I am not made of money I can only do what I can do.

I intend to do so much but mainly to work with my community and help them. So much work needs to be done and a lot of it is simple, It just takes new eyes to look at it. With so much money stripped away from health, we are looking at ways to cost cut – hell we have to. But the beauty of being Black and poor is that we can think of ways to get things done. That’s how we worked to get the services we have now. We are used to making something out of nothing.

Our health is a political football. everyone blames everyone else for it, we accept or share of it. But it’s not all our fault when we were denied the health services. But the health needs to be preventative. We need to be looking at our kids teaching them from a young age. the damage is done if we are pulling them in for a 715 health check in their 40’s. target the young encourage them to play sports and be active and eat healthy. It’s a start, a very basic start but its some where to move on from.

so here’s to good health and staying busy and not giving in to illness. God Bless the strong-willed

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

