Sharing other people’s stories

As you know I had collected quite a few stories for the Cancer Framework Forum. I would like to over the next few posts, share with you some of the stories…

With the money I have spent on treating my cancer I could have gone on two round the world trips and bought a couple of cars.

I have a brain tumour and I found that the medication I needed was not cheap, its not under close the gap and it’s a couple of hundred dollars for a few measly tablets. Put this together with the migraine pills that weren’t cheap and we were paying a fortune. I had worked all my life, my wife and I were happy and paid off our mortgage got rid of the kids then this hit us.

Private health insurance was a waste of money for all I had put into it. I worked as much as I could then took holidays or unpaid leave when I was too sick. My wife kept working, the kids kicked in with money. I don’t know how people afford it. We worked it out that every 3 months it cost me about $35,000. We had to sell up and sell a lot of things to help pay the bills. One doctor talked of possibly getting me on a study which would mean no medical bills as I would be a guinea pig. I was all for that, but when it came to it I didn’t get on the trial. It seemed like people who had flash doctors associated with universities got on these studies and not people like me.

I am now clear and trying to rebuild our lives. We have nothing, and when we retire we will have nothing, I feel guilty that all that money went on me. But my wife says that I am worth it and more. But still there is a guilt that I have denied my wife and my kids something

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

