Another Story of Cancer

I continue to share the stories of Cancer with you. I hope they move you to help make a change in some one’s life…

We moved from Woorabinda down to Brisbane. We couldn’t afford to have me and my son in Brisbane. And my partner and the other kids up in Woorabinda. He had to leave his job at the council so that we could be together.

We moved here and found it hard to get a house we had to stay with relatives for a while and that was hard, we had to keep our money for going up and down to the hospital and being there long times on end and that meant having to take food with us because we couldn’t afford the food at the hospital. Some times we had macca.

When we got a house and we couldn’t get a housing commission house and with no job my partner was on the dole and we had to live off that and the family payments. I tried to get a carers allowance but wasn’t eligible. The nurses at the hospital would say speak to Cancer council they are there to help. Well if they help it wasn’t anything we could get. We needed money to pay bills and get food. We ended up talking to the salvo’s who helped us with furniture, some clothing and food. They put us onto a group that do food boxes for about $40. That’s what we had. The kids couldn’t go on excursions or do other things their mates did because we couldn’t afford it. No one told me where to get help.

We had to fight with the hospital to allow extended family in sometimes to see my boy, they didn’t understand that his grannys were part of his family and not extended. They didn’t like us all sometimes sleeping in the room with my son.

Now we are stuck here in Brisbane because my son will need follow up, no one helps us WE get told go to the AMS, so its out of our way but they don’t give us any help they talk about counselling and services they have. But its too far to go and its got nothing to do with what we are facing.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

