The Next Story

Ovarian Cancer

I was asked to tell my story about this so here goes. I was diagnosed recently with ovarian cancer I had heard of it, I was aware of Teal and that kind of thing but that was the end of my knowledge.

I was sent to the hospital to have a laparotomy, they cut out a bit and checked it and told me it was ovarian cancer. I had to wait to go back to hospital for another surgery where they would take away most of the parts of my body that made me feel like a woman. They talked of removing the uterus the ovaries. I asked if their was any treatment that would stop this from having to happen, I am not that old and I did want to have another child but they said that would be out of the question.

I was on regime of different medicines I wouldn’t have enough space here to list what I was taking and what other tablets I was on because of side effects of the other drugs. So I was growing hairy and bulking up.

Then came the next operation finally after waiting for about 6 months This meant the removal of the ovaries, Fallopian tubes, the uterus, the omentum, which means all the fatty tissue around it. I guess I could laugh and say I had a tummy tuck!

More medications and more waiting then I had to get another operation to remove lymph glands and part of the bowel.

During all of this I lost my job because I was taking time off. I approached the Cancer Council to help me to keep my job or take them to court for firing me because of my cancer. I got no help from them except to tell me that I should fight it, How can I do that with no money. They have no one to help with that. I think a lawyer marching into the office saying you can’t do this I know you are hiding the fact that you are sacking this woman for having cancer, by using another name for it. Like saying too much time off, and its better for my health.

My partner had to take time off work to care for me and our son. We had to pay for someone to come in each day to help shower me and to clean the house a little bit while I was incapable of doing it.

We had to seek out people to help us with our son, as we are not both from here and all our families are up north. But to find care and have to pay through the nose to take care of our boy when we had appointments.

There were times when my partner and our son spent the whole night and day in the hospital to be with me. That’s no environment for a 4 year old to be in. But we had no choice.

I am angry at the government for not having organisations out there to help people like us. We needed help with transport, child care, bills and food.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

