Cancer…

Leukaemia, I cant even spell it properly but I have lived it. My daughter was ten and she was diagnose with leukemia. We were told that its not something to get all worked up over. That there has been lots of research done on it and her chances were really good.

I didn’t understand how cancer gets into the blood, but I guess I’m not an expert so its non of my business. We watched our baby girl go from being healthy and fit and so loving get sicker and sicker. Now I believe what my aunties say when they reckon that cancer is fine until you let the sun in, that means when you start cutting open and doing all those treatments.

My baby had to endure we had to wait for a bone marrow transplant and until then she had radium treatment and chemotherapy, not sure if I am spelling them right or wrong. But my baby was getting worse.

I asked doctors what they can do, and why was she getting worse and not better. They couldn’t anser me. WE were at the hospital around the clock, always me and my husband then take turns in bring the other kids in for visits.

My husband had to take his holidays to be there through the worst of it, I didn’t work so I didn’t have to give anything up. When my girl came home she always seemed to get better, I think it was having all of us around and not those sterile nurses. We have big families so there was always someone to help with the other kids and to buy food clean the house and do that kind of stuff.

But my baby got worse and spent more and more time in hospital. They stopped talking about recovery and transplant and starting talking about what to do when she dies.

I was yelling at them barsteds isn’t it their job to heal my baby. I watched on TV all these little white kids getting trips to dream world or going on a fire truck or seeing a movie. Where were those people for my baby. I think its racist that them lot starlight and canteen came no where near us. We would have jumped at the chance to take her to sea world she always loved the ocean and when she was little wanted to be a mermaid. But she was never invited to them places, we couldn’t afford it. What kind of fun would it be for her to go with one parent and her brothers and sisters not going.

So I reckon they are racist, they don’t help us. My girl wasn’t white enough for them to help or to put her on TV.

But We didn’t want to have a good bye event we wanted to not have to face her going. We organised a big party with family and friends, had a big cake with a mermaid on it and celebrated her life and our love for her.

She left us a few weeks later. We are still dealing with it. No one from the hospital was there to talk to us or to help us get through it all. We miss our baby and don’t want anybody else to have to say good bye.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

