Cancer Stories…

My name is Sandra, I have cancer in my uterus. I am 35. I hear about breast screen and getting a pap smear. I thought this was enough but the Pap smear doesn’t find cancer in the uterus. I’m single and thought when I was diagnosed that maybe it’s because of my sex life. Thought I might have got something that lead up to this. I had heard the HPV needles in the school covered a lot of things so maybe I missed out.

I had to listen to doctor’s talk about removing my uterus, which I wasn’t ready for. I still had a hope of settling down and having babies. But this choice was taken away from me. I was so scared and had no one to help me. My parents had died and my brother and sister live in different states, plus they had their own problems.

I was just terrified that I agreed to everything the doctors told me, I did everything they said. I only had my friends for support and found that the people at the hospital, the social workers were so out of touch with the real world that I found them useless.

My own GP explained a lot more to me, she was good but she couldn’t help with everything. Like having people in your home to help take care of you. Even the need to have someone to take care of you.

I was lucky that I had medications that I could easily get. I spoke to other patients who would talk about the huge expense of their medicines. I was lucky with that. But the time off work meant I got behind in my bills I had the power cut off twice. I was on a pre-paid mobile plan so at least people could phone me and if they were on the same carrier I could talk for free.

I didn’t really try to seek help, well not at first because I thought I wouldn’t be eligible for any kind of aid. But when things got worse and I was in Dire Straits. I asked for help from different charities, and sure enough I wasn’t eligible for their help.

A friend had her church give me donations of food this was a great relief because it eased one problem. I was diagnosed as being depressed, is it any wonder. I was struggling to make ends meet. Constant trips to the hospital and having to get taxis all the time because I was too sick and in too much pain to use buses or trains. Friends would take me when they could, but that cut into their time and it’s not fair to rely on someone too much.

I had to take leave of absence from work because I was worried I would lose my job if I kept taking time off. I wasn’t eligible for Centrelink and had to go on the dole, this isn’t enough to pay the rent electricity and the visits to the hospital.

I got to the point where I loved being in hospital because it meant I got a decent feed, could shower as long as I want and get someone else, usually a friend to do my washing. It made things bearable I guess that might be the depression talking, not too sure.

I am still going in and out of the hospital have recently heard about transport to and from, which is cheaper, it means I am stuck at the hospital for longer but at least I get a cuppa and sandwich and I stash away the biscuits or sometimes the sandwiches to take home. Every little bit helps.

I plan to not be sick for too much longer, I will fight this and get better and get back to my job and my life.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

