Journeys and stories, again

Bowel Cancer is in my family. My dad died 12 years ago with it. We were shocked and we all had to face the fact that this hard working tough old man was going to leave us. What we weren’t prepared for is the legacy of bowel cancer.

Nobody said at the time it could be genetic and that us kids should have some kind of check up. Now My brother has bowel cancer and a doctor asked about his medical history and when he said that my dad died of bowel cancer the doctor asked him if he was checked and said there are some tests that should be done to see if the children of my dad had the gene.

Now we are all waiting appointments at the hospital to get these tests. Its too late for my brother he has it and has had part of his bowel removed. We have to get these tests and get our kids all the nieces and nephews to get them. We don’t know if its going to cost us or not.

I hate having to watch my brother die like my dad. If they knew this stuff about tests they should have made us do them or told us about them.

Do they keep these tests hidden so that its cheaper for the health system? How much is a life worth? What is the point to have all this research if its not being used to help people.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

One response to “Journeys and stories, again

Leave a Reply

