Journeys and stories, I still am sharing them

I’m Taylor Bond, I had to nurse my mum when she had cancer. She was fine, and then she came home from the doctors saying she had cancer. I thought it would be fine, people survive this all the time, but my mum didn’t they say it was too late and if she had of been diagnosed earlier she would have survived.

I had to sit by and watch my mum get sicker I had to help take care of her, she was shame about me helping her to shower and go to the toilet. She said it wasn’t a kid place to be doing that for her mum. I know it was a big shame for her to have me do this, it took away her privacy. But we had no other option. Some kind of nurses were going to come in and help, but that didn’t happen, even though we filled out forms and the hospital told us they would show up, they never did.

As my mum got worse she couldn’t be left alone, so some one always had to be there with her. She was on really strong medication to take the pain away and some times she just didn’t know who we were or what we were doing there. She would get upset and start yelling at us. Some times she threw things at us. But we knew that that wasn’t mum that was the drugs.

We would tell the doctors when we went to the hospital all the time telling them the medication wasn’t right, but they kept telling us it was and it was about pain management until she died.

They wanted to put her in a hospital to die, and they said this would be best for everyone, as she could get the help she needed and we wouldn’t be watching her all the time. I don’t think they understood that we wanted her with us, we didn’t want her to die with strangers. We put her into a place for respite, but they went through everything and somethings they wouldn’t let her keep. She had some stuff from when she was a kid. She had a stone and it went everywhere with her, she was it was spirit stuff. We were never allowed to touch it. But these people in the respite just picked it up and put it into a bag of things to take home. This really upset my mum. She went off her head at them for touching it. They were all like, its only a stone.. They didn’t understand it and why it meant so much to mum. Well the stone got lost and mum went not long after it. I know that losing her stone was part of her going quick. Because she always held onto it, especially when she was in bad pain. It was part of her and her upbringing. It is part of culture and they didn’t care enough to find out.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

