Stories shared

I went into hospital with pains in my abdomen, tests were run and they thought I might have a cyst on my ovaries. So they let me out of hospital with some medicines. But less than two weeks later I was rushed back into hospital and they found out that I have ovarian cancer. I cannot properly put into words what happened I seemed to be going in and out of hospital having surgery after surgery after surgery they talked about radio treatment, I think. But they opted for Chemo therapy. This meant more time in hospital I couldn’t cope with it was in hospital for days on end as I was so sick from the chemo.

I thought things would be alright, my husband had a job he took sick leave but the doctors bills kept coming in. I thought we had a free medical system but I was paying for a lot of tests and the medicine cost an arm and an leg. Within 6 months we were broke. We had to sell our house as I was unable to work and my husband was taking so much time off work. I was told that I was lucky that I already had a child because I wouldn’t be able to have anymore. I didn’t think this was lucky. I had a toddler who needed her mother and who we had intended to give her a brother or sister.

I was at home all the time when I wasn’t at the hospital, I felt alone and unwanted. No one came to visit me and I was too unwell to visit other people plus we only had one car.

I tried my best to keep the house clean and to take care of my daughter but there were times when the house was locked up and TV put on and I slept all day while she had to make do with crackers or whatever she could reach.

I was told about services that help people who are sick but found out that they cost money and we couldn’t afford any help coming in.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

