The final story

A couple of years ago, my daughter had what was just put down as a boil on her face. It was treated but didn’t seem to go away. It turned out she had Orofacial cancer. I had no idea what that meant she was a kid why did God give her this cancer.

We suddenly found ourselves alone no one came near us, she was treated bad, because people would look at her in disgust and our mob, who we reckon are close were just as bad. You would think they could catch it from her.

We tried to fundraise money but that failed as we had no idea how to do it so gave it up. We struggled for money to pay bills and to go down to Brisbane all the time. Every single test needed to be done in Brisbane. I had nothing. Only her.

We had to do a lot of travel down to Brisbane for treatment and I couldn’t afford to stay at places and those places for families still cost you. I was couch surfing on peoples beds and even strangers beds.

Then it got worse, the department came in. I had in the past used drugs but now that became an issue my daughter was taken away from me. She was given into the care of a family member who managed to get help with a big company to get a new washing machine and dryer. But I was still on the outside.

Canteen took my girl on some trips. She had a about five years for surgeries and treatments to get rid of this cancer and she missed a lot of school. She was able to catch up on school with the help of the hospital.

But the big problem was she wanted to be with her mum, and her mum wanted to be with her. But we couldn’t she was with a relative who wasn’t our mob. She kept her away from a lot of her family her other sisters and brothers who were older.

I tried to get the department to give me back my daughter, but because of my old record it was hopeless, why take my daughter away, half way through everything. When I was the one who was there from the start. Because of this I found I got no help from anyone. I wanted to set up a home for her but no one came forward to help.

She is now an older teenager still has to go to the hospital al lot but now she is with me, she gets a disability pension and I get a carers pension. We are still struggling to pay the bills and I think we will be like this for a very long time. We are on a waiting list for housing and we get some food hampers from the local church, but nothing else.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

