What makes a mother?

I freely admit I am not the mother of the year. But I am always trying to do the best for my children. I wonder how some mothers and fathers can let their children down?

I have recently had dealings with a mother who was a drug addict and who was not really mother material. In between her vagueing out from over prescribing her prescription drugs, she only wanted to party. Her children, who are such beautiful kids have had to suffer from this.

The mum was more worried about herself than her kids. Her children had to be re-taught toilet training and proper eating. For her, if she got up on time or if we moved her, breakfast was what she ate, not her kids unless we fed them. But she would buy chocolates on the way to school.

She would sit down and eat lunch and not bother with giving the kids anything but would constantly give them lollies, chocolates and soft drinks. The saddest thing which I will talk about was watching her 6 year old daughter making her own sandwiches and treats for her birthday, while mum was watching shows on her laptop. That little girl deserves so much better than that. In fact every child does.

She would let these little kids watch shows like The Walking Dead and Ugly Americans. This   to my way of thinking is not suitable for a 6 and 7 year old. Those kids had problems, but mum didn’t care. She had trained them up, so that they could lie to Child Protection.

I don’t understand how some parents can just be not there for their kids. I know of a young guy who is fighting hard to see his child, while another has time with his child but always has things to do and places to go, so his child misses out on this time.

Why do we have some people able to have kids and not treat them like humans, they treat their kids like an animal or an inconvenience and then you have some incredible people who would be wonderful parents unable to have children?

I am stumped if I can work out the reason why this is the case. I think Children are a blessing, even if they are annoying, fight, fuss and do all the things kids do. All children should be loved and treated with respect. Parents can’t always do everything, or buy everything, but if you are there for them and let them know they are loved. Teach them how to be responsible and respectful. Is that asking too much? No not really.

You might think that I am holding a big judgement here, but I have seen to many dysfunctional families, I have seen too many bad parents and dead beat parents. I wish there was a way to give those who really wish for kids and who would take care of them properly to have them, and of course those that don’t act like a real parent to not have kids.

Simplistic? yeah, but hey it’s about making sure that the children get the best possible chance and life than can have.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

