Am I not pretty enough for you?

I have had a response from a commercial network show about my promotion of cancer. Now I was excited when I was phone by a lady stating she was from a certain show. She liked what was happening, but wanted to make the story more personal.

We chatted for a while I told her everything I have been through and how I am still holding on. I told her about the money problems. The problems when Chemo doesn’t work and your body reacts to it and the drama of children going through this with me.

I was getting really excited by now, thinking that yes I have a victory some one wants to listen and this will help with my pushing for more to be done with cancer for Aboriginal people. We then talked about the rate of cancer in Indigenous people and the lack of help and support and that my people don’t always understand the system and are intimidated by doctors and that I want to do more and about the advocacy that we are trying to set up.

Then my world came crashing down, she told me that really what would work would be a story about me, and how I want to look good again after everything I have been through. That the other stuff can be added in to pad out the story, but it would be a really good make over story that makes people feel good and gives hope.

Well I was thinking hell do I look that bad, that even over the phone this woman can tell I need a make over? I tried to explain again what I am doing. Yep I would like help, but I also want to help others and if I can help someone going through what I have been through, or stop them having to go through it I am happy.

But I missed the point. The story would revolve around me, and making me look better. Well I guess I could use a tummy tuck, after losing all that weight from the steriods. Yep the face is looking a bit worn, possibly a bit of botox might help. The hair needs a hair cut, but I like the grey hairs I have now so I wouldn’t want them to change the colour and anyway, I couldn’t afford the re-dying.

But what has the world of current affairs and news come to? when a television show only wants to do something light and fluffy. What happened to the days of hard nosed journalists finding good stories. Now these shows are all disease of the month, bogans speeding, shopping prices, entertainment news and light and fluffy stuff.

I am really not sure what to do, do I do the story and hope I can get my message out and enjoy the pamper treatment or do I stick to my guns and keep plodding away, trying to spread my message.

I will let you know of my decision.

Thank you

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

