Medication Celebration

Before I get into this post, I would just like to wish everyone a Happy New Year (Did you know that courtesy dictates you should wish Happy New Year until the end of January!).

Today I had some good news, after being on steroids since my diagnosis, I am finally off them. I had been taking the strong steroids, because they help to stop the swelling in the brain. When everything went pear shaped, the doctors decided that I should go off this treatment too. Of course I was happy with this, as I had gained so much weight from taking the drugs, and as you know if you are a regular reader, between that and the chemo, I more than doubled my weight.

But I have been slowly dropping the dosage, of course under medical supervision, and waiting for the old body to do what it should do. The steroids, obviously affect the hormones and the glands, and it takes over the functions that your body should be doing. So in effect it becomes a dampener of the body’s natural functions.

After a year of slowly dropping my dosage rates, tests on a regular basis to check if my body is kicking in with the hormones. It is finally here. I am now able to stop taking these drugs. The great thing about this is…I will lose more weight, I will sweat less, I will not feel the heat so much and I will have a few extra dollars in my pocket.

images1

It is such a little thing, and yet to me it is a stop closer to normality. One less drug to take, a little less expense, which means more money to spend on and with my kids.

I have been feeling so good lately, maybe that’s just the excitement speaking, I had been ill over Christmas, I had a slow bleed that I had to get sorted. But in general I have been feeling good and positive. I have now dropped three medications. This is great because I don’t rattle when I walk.

Two of the medications have been dropped because it is useless taking medications that have no effect on the final outcome. Sounds grim. But it’s not, it just means less medications. Drugs and medical science do not decide my fate. God and I will be the first to know when I go. So life is too short to worry about it all. I don’t mean in a flippant way. I just mean, to not worry about what you cannot change and to be happy with what you have and remember your blessings.

I guess I will still have good and bad days, but today I am feeling wonderful, powerful, incredible courageous, happy and healthy. What more could you ask for really.

577723_622940987718934_1357319376_n

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

