How to not get that job

I guess I am a bit on the slow side, but I didn’t realise that you shouldn’t say some things in a job interview. I am proud of my involvement and becoming a NICan ambassador,  I am an Indigenous cancer ambassador and I see it as a very important and wonderful role. I enjoy, hearing other people’s stories, and helping others as they go through the house of horrors that is cancer and its  treatment.

But I guess some things you need to keep to yourself. I have been asked in job interviews about this and I have no problem, telling them that I have a brain tumour. Sometimes you get strange looks, I have been asked by panel members questions that never make me raise an eyebrow. The usual stuff like have I beaten it, etc.

I know that it can be the death knell of a job, that is how I lost my job, when the place that employed me, disregarded my doctors, make me see a doctor of their choosing and then they focused on terminal, and thus I was released like a dove at a wedding.

But how can the disabled and people suffering from illness function when they can’t get a job. I found out that I shouldn’t talk about my cancer, just brush off the spinal injuries if I want to get a job. Now what I have makes no difference to if I am capable of doing the job.

I honestly do not know how someone who has a visible disability copes with this. They deal with blatant bigotry on a daily basis and continue on strong with dignity. So many jobs out there do not depend on your physical ability, but one look and you are out the door quick smart.

It seems that we just cannot deal with some one who is different and who doesn’t fit the idea of the norm, gets shunted to the side and ignored. Why are we wasting so much talent and wisdom? Why are we not utilising The disabled, chronically ill? If they want to work and have their own clearance if needed give them the job, don’t use this as a way to not employ someone.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

