Shrove Tuesday

Today is Shrove Tuesday, which for most people means nothing but a chance to eat pancakes for free (or pay for them as a fundraiser), have stupid pancake flipping competitions and post pictures of the afore mentioned and just get on with your day.

To some it is the day to start thinking about Ash Wednesday (tomorrow) and what you are going to give up for Lent. Now being the Catholic that I am, of course I am going to give up something, and this year I have decided to give up cancer. Yep that’s right, I am giving up the horrible tumour growing in my brain. No more giving up swearing, smoking, chocolates, meat or anything else. I am going to give it up.

Now before you think that I have finally succumbed to the tumour, I think it makes perfect sense. We give up things to show repentance of our sins and self-denial to show our love of God.

Well I am willing to give up this and all the associated medical problems and the expense they cause in the name of God. I will forgo paying out for medications and will donate to the church. I will go without the pain and the sickness. I am ready to give this up.

So tonight when I have my last meal of red meat for the next forty days, I will ask God to accept this, and to understand I am not a Saint, I cannot keep on taking the pain and suffering gladly and that my faith waivers quite often. I hope that he will do it, I hope that he has time to look down at me, in between taking care of all the refugees, the victims of war, the sufferers of disease and man’s hate. Maybe he can get to me after he has taken care of all the babies, all the people with disabilities, all the aged, all those who don’t have anything, those who are lonely, those who are hurting. Those who are in genuine need of his intervention.

 

Lent (Latin: Quadragesima – English: Fortieth) is a solemn religious observance in the liturgical calendar of manyChristian denominations that begins on Ash Wednesday and covers a period of approximately six weeks beforeEaster Sunday. The traditional purpose of Lent is the preparation of the believer through prayer, penance,repentance of sins, almsgiving, atonement and self-denial. This event, along with its pious customs, is observed by Christians in the Anglican, Calvinist, Lutheran, Methodist, Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox traditions.[1][2][3]Today, some Anabaptist and evangelical churches also observe the Lenten season.

 

P.S. Dear God, please don’t strike me with a lightening bolt for being flippant.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

