These are a few of my least favorite things

Julie Andrews sang about her favorite things, and who doesn’t enjoy singing along with her when she does.

images

 

We all know what we like and what we don’t like, but sometimes you reach that point where you have to stop and wonder why things still happen or why people still do the things they do. Why the rain doesn’t come and why do I have to suffer in the heat of an Australian summer.

I am actually going somewhere with this, so stay with me. After I posted about my pre Australia day adventures. I had it posted on the Patient Opinion site. This is a great way to share what is good and bad with medical services and practices in the country. Feed back is important if we are going to make services better.

So with some of the responses I had I was amazed to find many others had felt similar to me, even if they weren’t Aboriginal. I also found out that some services don’t want to change. An inbox I had was about Queensland Cancer Council, they still have on their website “ATSI”. I was dismayed at that because I have spoke to them about this, emailed them and I know that a lot of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island people with cancer have spoke at forums about this and told the organisation that it is insulting.

We had a struggle to get Federal and State governments to stop using this acronym. I hate it when people refer to us as ATSI people. My way of dealing with this is to call them Non ATSI people, or NATSI (NAZI) for short, it usually shuts them up quick.

I have spoke about Queensland Cancer Council many times and in many forums. While I appreciate the work they do. I don’t like the ATSI and the fact that staff say it. I don’t like that they have no Aboriginal/Torres Strait Island person working for them. I don’t like that they don’t have a reconciliation Action Plan. I don’t like hearing about people who feel they are overlooked because they smoke or are assumed to smoke and drink. I don’t like when you talk down to my people and go on about low socio-economics and how this goes hand in hand with shorter life expectancy.

I don’t like that they overlook my people, but put up there hand for Indigenous funding, but don’t interact with the community. I don’t like that they want from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, a lot of family history and information about what we go through for research purposes, but don’t really sit down and talk with us and understand that taking this information from us, is taking another part of us. Do they understand that we do agree to do promotional campaigns to help others and that we do it for free is a blessing, not something that you should expect and demand from us, when you pay all the other people involved.

I am disappointed in the service for its lack of ethics and morality. It is the only organisation that many know of to go to, and yet I have so many first hand stories from my people about being fobbed off, assistance being ignored. Did you forget that cancer isn’t racist? Did you forget that cancer doesn’t care for the funding or the lifestyle, the age or the sex?

Did you forget that we are people too and that while we haven’t been users of your services previously doesn’t mean that we won’t be in the future.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

