Lymphoedema

Cancer, is the gift that just keeps on giving. or maybe saying its like Father Christmas is more appropriate, the memory lingers on way after the magic has finished.

No matter how good a doctor or how good an experience, you can never be fully aware of everything. The medical profession do not have the time to go through every little detail of what might or might not happen.

I found myself in the situation this week of my leg swelling up, it was painful and I had to spend a day elevating it. I wanted this checked out straight away. I had a clot in the other leg and wanted to rule out that anything like a clot, or DVT was in my leg. The first doctor that I went to ask about this, just looked at it and said that the chances are high that I had lymphoedema, that was it, end of consultation.

Lymphedema (lymphoedema in British English), also known as lymphatic obstruction, is a condition of localized fluid retention and tissue swelling caused by a compromised lymphatic system, which normally returns interstitial fluid to the thoracic duct and then the bloodstream.

I wasn’t happy with the not looking at the leg so I check with my GP, the GP sent me to get a Doppler ultra sound. I was glad of that. She also checked the pressure on my leg, and she also said there was a good chance that it was lymphoedema, but given my history it is better to check. (lymphodema hit the blood clot in my leg. All the swelling and pain was put down to the fluid retention)

 A Doppler ultrasound is a test that uses high frequency sound waves (ultrasound) to measure the amount of blood flow through your arteries and veins, usually those that supply blood to your arms and legs. Vascular flow studies, also known as blood flow studies, can detect abnormal flow within an artery or blood vessel.

I was lucky that it appears to be just major fluid retention, I was never told that I could be affected by this a couple of years later. My GP had to tell me, she also told me that it could flare up. Some help for it http://https://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/health/conditionsandtreatments/lymphoedema

I was told there are support groups for this, so I am going to one to find out what we can do to help each other.

 

The Australasian Lymphology Association – http://www.lymphoedema.org.au/

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

