241

This is a 241. you get 2 stories for the price of 1. Me and my sister both had breast cancer. She had private health cover and i didn’t. She got it first and she was lucky she had chemotherapy then surgery then radition treatment. She is now a lot better. I got it next everyone said that I would be in trouble because I went public. I was told I would be waiting for years for surgery and that I should try to go private. I got into the hospital in three week and had my treatment. I found that there was no difference between the time of me and my sister in getting treatment. I was happy that I didn’t have to wait and that all the stories I heard were wrong. The doctor I had in the hospital was different to my sisters doctor. But my doctor asked a lot of questions about my family and what our medical background was. I found out because of him that my mum who died when I was a kid died of breast cancer. We just knew she died and took our dads word on it that nothing could be done. We never questioned. We should have. My aunt, who is my mum’s siter died 10 years ago from breast cancer. Her daughter, my cousin died of the same thing 8 years ago. We thought it was just in my aunts family. We didn’t know to check,, we didn’t even know that you can do a mdical history of your family to see if you have a higher chance of getting breast cancer. We had to go and get my mums death certificate because my dad wouldn’t give it to us. It was too hard on him to talk about it. If he spoke about it, my sister and I could have found out sooner. When people talk about prevention, they should talk about your back ground they should talk about medical history. because of what the doctor did my sister and I could help our kids and our neices to make sure they check out any lump that they keep an eye on them susu’s

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

