Why I love my electronic Message Stick

A Message Stick, according to Uncle Wiki is

A message stick is a form of communication traditionally used by Indigenous Australians. It is usually a solid piece of wood, around 20ā€“30cm in length, etched with angular lines and dots.

Traditionally, message sticks were passed between different clans and language groups to establish information and transmit messages. They were often used to invite neighbouring groups to corroborees, set-fights and ball games.

e493-message-stick-2cropped

I love my Message Stick, you may call it your phone. But now days, I think of all the forms that I can communicate with the rest of the world as my Message Stick.

It really is important to us as a society and I think it is a wonderful tool for helping us stay connected. I wouldn’t have been able to survive all the times I was in hospital without the internet. It was my way of not feeling so isolated, I wasn’t left out, I was still part of the world. It also gave my friends and family an easy way to find out how I was, to check my progress and for them to let me know they cared.

If I wasn’t on Twitter, Facebook or blogging for a period, the red flag would go up and people would check on me. They knew it was a sign that I was unwell again, and they would check up on me, make sure I was fine and then be able to visit if close enough and if I was able to have visitors. But mainly it eased the worry.

I am so glad that I have that way of letting other know that I am alright, I know that if I die at home, some one would miss me with in a few days or couple of weeks. I know that if I don’t respond to texts the same day, some one would check on me. So that is a good feeling. Too often it pops up on the news that some one has been found dead in their home and no one knew. I was happy to hear the story of the little old lady, who ordered a pizza every day, and one day she didn’t so the delivery person, went around to check on her. She had fallen, couldn’t get to the phone to call for help. If she didn’t have that connection to someone outside she would have died.

So thank God for the electronic Message Stick. Even when I feel alone or lonely, I know that humanity is only a push of a button away. I feel good knowing that people in other states or other parts of the world, would be able to raise the alarm if something happened.

I probably don’t have to worry too much at the moment, having three teenagers at home, I would home that they would notice something is wrong at some point, even if its only when they want transport, money or food. They would notice after a couple of days…I hope

But really, I had never realised how good being connected could be until I became ill. Being in hospital for weeks on end leaves you lost. I am not able to lie back and watch TV for hours on end. I can read, but there are times when you need to shake it up. Having access to the internet is a great way to see the photo’s stories and other silly things that friends and family put online. It is a perfect way to see what is going on in the world, when you might not be able to talk, are too ill to have visitors or if you are bedridden at home and can’t do anything. Just sitting with a laptop or tablet in your bed and you can listen, watch, read and be part of the world.

I would be lost if my electronic Message Stick wasn’t available.

Just before I post this, while at the WICC in Brisbane, I was surprised to have three people come up and recognise me from twitter. The power of the little box that keeps you connected. Let me say again, love my electonic message stick

 

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

One response to “Why I love my electronic Message Stick

  • Jonah

    Are you taking the piss mobile phones are worse than rabbits and they cause cancer no wonder you have a brain tumour

Leave a Reply

