Just Dying for it

So yesterday the media went into overdrive about Euthanasia because of the ABC Vote compass, which as you know polls the nation. 75% of those who voted want voluntary euthanasia to be legalised in Australia.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-05-25/vote-compass-euthanasia/7441176

 

 

So while I listened to the people on the radio share their  views and I listened to those for and against, I was reminded of Gillian Mears, who passed away recently, she was against euthanasia, until she had a terminal illness.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-05-20/author-and-euthanasia-advocate-gillian-mears-dies/7430760

I think that unless you are faced with a terminal illness, you should not speak against it. If I can be so blunt, I don’t think a male should talk about periods, blood flow cramps etc, because he has no idea what it is like. So if you are healthy don’t judge a person with a terminal illness who wants to have voluntary euthanasia.

I have a  terminal illness, and I have been in great pain and I know what is coming towards the end of my life. If I am lucky the brain tumour will just let me die easy, maybe in my sleep or in a sudden zap. But I also have to face the high chance that I am going to lose my sight, be in excruciating pain from it, lose most of my bodily functions. That is not an easy death. I am not talking easy as in a cop-out and not wanting to face the realities of death. I am talking that what I will go through will be I am not me, my children will have to watch this happen to me and I don’t think that they should have to deal with that.  They have been through enough with my cancer, they have watched me die and be revived over and over again. They have watched me have to learn to walk again, talk again and do the little things. They as children and teenagers have had to help their mama shower and toilet. That goes against my beliefs and my sense of pride and dignity.

I want to be able to die with my family around me, not alone in pain in a hospice. I have no problem with being in palliative care, but I want to be in a place where they can accept that I want to go when I can say good-bye to my children, while I can remind them that I love them.

I want to die humanely. If an animal is really sick or injured we put them down, the vet puts them to sleep and it is considered the humane thing to do. So why can’t I have the same.

 

 

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

2 responses to “Just Dying for it

  • TrishD

    I am in complete agreement and complete awe of you my darling sista.

    You have always faced your life and your writing with bravery and courage, not because it’s easy but because you know it MUST be said and shared. No matter what happens please know I am here every painful and emotional step of the way. Whatever I can do or help do.

  • proudblacksista

    Thank you Trish, you are one of the wonderful people that help give me strength and hope

Leave a Reply

