Wow what a response

The other day I was contacted by a journalist from NITV. She did an online story about my blogging

http://www.sbs.com.au/nitv/nitv-news/article/2016/05/31/colleens-blog-helping-blackfellas-talk-about-cancer

Wow what a response. Thank you for sending me your stories, I will publish them, of course with your permission and thank you for the post suggestions.

I will share with you one quick story.

I read about your blog and had a read, I laughed at the thought of some of what you have done, but I really like the cheap things you had, I have some ideas on how to save money so I will send them to you or maybe I should blog.  I had a melanoma, strange to think that a blackfella like me could get it. My skin is about the same as yours, but they tell me it is in my genetics, I hope Ernie Dingo checks his DNA for that, since he is a viking. When I was getting surgery we had problems making ends meet. I had to go to town for hosiptal and that meant my man had the kids. He did a good job, the kids were all still there when I got home. I had to pay for a lot of special body wash, couldn’t use the same stuff as the rest of the family and had to buy creams from the chemist for my skin. It took away our savings, we were saving up for a house. my man says house can wait, but him and the kids can’t be without the mum. Can you do some more things to help us out in the country. We don’t have a choice sometimes in where we go to hospital and we don’t have much choice in the soaps, moisturizers and sometimes even teh food. Keep it up sis, and we will all get better together

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

One response to “Wow what a response

  • BigMan

    I like to see what you talk about and I especially like the stories. I want to help, If people know that they can get help from the hospitals to get some home care. That is where a person comes in and helps to clean the house and they can take you to do the shopping. Everyone should know that. Most hospitals have koories working in them so you can ask them for help

Leave a Reply

