Disabled and Homeless

It is hard to live with a chronic or terminal illness at the best of times but when the government does a clamp on the Disability Support, well it becomes down right impossible for many.

I have been lucky to have a picked up some work, but trust me it is hard to get a job when you have a brain tumour, but it is harder to survive on the pension when your medical bills are so high. I listened on the radio to a person talk of how they cannot get the pension as they have worked for a couple of years, but now it has taken it’s toll and they can’t work anymore. The person is a quadriplegic and surely should be able to get on the pension, but no they can’t. This surprised me as surely there should be no question that this person is eligible.

I was at a disability group meeting and mentioned the story and was shocked to find many people have had the same trouble and some who had been on the pension for many years were told that they were healthy enough to get a job.

What is happening to the county when we know that the rising number of homelessness and poverty are creating a strain of social services, but think about being homeless with a disability. How would you feel if you had no money for rent, food or you medication and you were kicked out of your home. We often hear the stories of those with mental health issues slipping through the cracks and being homeless, but soon we are going to see physical disabilities in our homeless.

I know many people think that the injured disabled vet begging on the street is a sight for other countries, but we are getting closer to it here in Australia. Many women who are over 45 face being homeless. I have been homeless with my children because of the high cost of living.

I had to couch surf with two daughters, my son had to couch surf at his friends places, all because I couldn’t find affordable housing for myself and my children. That is not even taking into account my high medical bills, I know the colour of my skin also played a part in the problem.

But more and more people are becoming homeless, more and more people who should be able to get a disability support pension are denied it. Where is our humanity to our fellow country men? How do you pay high medical costs, without the benefit of a healthcare card? Having a health problem is sending many people broke. It is not a case of having private health insurance, because Lord knows, we have all heard the stories of people complaining that as the bills get higher, the help from those companies gets less and less.

The sad reality is we live in a society that uses crowd funding and local fundraising to help people pay their medical bills. That is not the way a society should be.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

