Elections and Cancer

I know that a lot of people with cancer are worried as I am about what will happen to health services in the future. How will the changes to medicare affect each person is a hard question.

I know that I worry when I hear that bulk billing will go or that pathology and xray services will be charged instead of bulk billing. For me that is a problem as I get blood tests every week. I have bone density check every six months and I have to get my brain tumour monitored and lets not forget the cortisone injections. Yep that is a lot, but I know of people out there who have it worse than me.

I don’t really have the words to sum up what all the parties have to offer, but I will give you an idea of where to get the information.

Croakey is great, read the blog and the twitter for full updates and an easy to understand break down of what is going on.

https://croakey.org

Also you need to check out the NACCHO website and blog, it will tell you how each party stands on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health issues.

http://www.naccho.org.au

I hope this can help you to make a decision that will benefit you and not hinder your health care

 

 

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

