#Just A Mum

Dear Sonia Kruger and Pauline Hanson,

I appreciate your views that you are scared. But I want to know what you are scared of? What do you think will happen to your child or to yourself? I am Just a Mum, an Aboriginal mum of 4 wonderful people. Daily I worry about my kids. I am scared that they will be attacked. I am scared that I will get a call from a hospital.

I have hugged my children and shed tears with them, when they have been spat on. I have kissed their hurt when they have been excluded because of the colour of their skin. I have worried myself sick every time a child comes home late. Why?

Because my children are very Aboriginal and very proud of it. They and their friends have had to face the hate that you two ladies spread. My daughter was told to go back where she comes from, when Pauline first came to our TV screens. The daughter was 8 at the time.

I worry when my son goes out with his friends, he is over 6ft what will the police do to him if they decide to pull him over? Again, this isn’t an irrational fear, I have faced it before when as a young teenager he and his sister, walking to Karate, were pulled up by the police and asked for identification, asked where they were going, asked to open their bags and had the bags emptied on the footpath. My daughter was taken in for questioning about a crime. Why? because she was Aboriginal and close by. They let her go when they found the person, who was another race altogher. But don’t let that  worry you when you can grab an Aboriginal.

I have been at sporting events where my children are derided for being good, and heard the comments of Aboriginal money pays for everything. This is an insult to my children’s natural talent. This is an insult to me as the mum working hard to give my kids a chance to play sports and represent their Community, Town, Region and state.

Thanks to Pauline and her followers a lot of us waste our time educating the public. No we don’t get free education. No we don’t get free petrol. We definitely don’t get free cars. No free homes. But if you hear of one let me know, I would like a free home.

We struggle, we work, we live and we love. We teach our children to not hate those who hate us. We teach our kids manners and respect. Sonia Kruger, what are you teaching your child?

Try being an Aboriginal Australian, being overlooked and reviled in your own country. Try living with the past policies that kept us down. Try living with the affects of forced removals, stolen generation. The health problems my people face are in fact a cause of the past government policies.

If anyone knows what it is like to live with fear for your children it is Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mothers. I will not forget the Muslim population. Muslims have lived in this country for many generations. Where would white Australia be without the Cameleers? These Afghan’s who traveled where white people feared to tread, these people who many of them lived and married Aboriginal people.

http://www.australia.gov.au/about-australia/australian-story/afghan-cameleers

I welcome people of all different faiths and colours. I teach my children to respect and to care for their fellow humans. What are you teaching your children?

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

