The scary side of Pokemon

Everyone is out and about catching their Pokemon. In fact I was also with my kids catching them. Had fun at NAIDOC catching some. What started me off was “Don’t move mum, there’s a meowth on your foot”. I thought it was fun and good exercise with my kids, who are teenagers and upwards.

The down side came when I started to see reports of people trying to catch pokemon on railway tracks, in court houses, hospitals, cemetery’s and a Hell’s Angels Clubhouse. I walk past people at the ferry terminal, not waiting for a ferry but at a gym and sharing and not talking to other pokemon go players around them.

I had a very insightful moment while watching my son, a huge big lad, walking along to catch a pokemon. I saw white women around him, look at him strangely and hold their bags a bit tighter. I watched as business suited men, walked around him. Yep they thought this young black man was a threat to them.

I wonder how many other Aboriginal people have been affected by this? I wonder if Black people around the world are getting strange looks because of it? God forbid that a trigger happy American cop should shoot an innocent Black or Muslim man, who is just trying to catch a Zapdos.

My local park is full day and night with people trying to catch pokemon or those walking up and down to incubate an egg. Does this really need to be done at 3 AM? I have a work mate who has tried to change the settings on his phone so that he can get a rare pokemon that is in Ipswich. Guess what, that doesn’t work.

I read a post on Twitter this morning of white kids blaming the mess they are leaving behind in Darwin on Tall grass mob. I don’t know who would believe that when I see the local hot spots for pokemon around Brisbane with a lot of mess. But of course many would prefer to believe Aboriginal people made the mess than white kids. That is the sad state of affairs now. Black bashing and Muslim hating are back in vogue.

I hope the game goes the way of the dinosaurs soon, before I have another cause of concern with my kids.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

2 responses to “The scary side of Pokemon

  • Maha Bali

    Thank you for blogging this – the first thing I heard about Pokemon Go was someone saying it was unsafe for black men in America to play it – because they would look suspicious to onlookers. Your experience confirms this seems to have happened to your son and I am extremely frustrated with white people who just.don’t.get.it.

Leave a Reply

