Racism in Medicine

Story Sharing…

I was in my hospital bed and my stitches, started to burn, l looked down and blood was coming out, I called for the nurse and she put padding on it and went off. I was waiting for her to come back and attend the bleeding, when I had a lot of pain. I clenched my teeth and waited and waited. I was in tears but I was sure that the nurse was going to come back. I was waiting for ages, the blood had seeped through the padding and I was crying and moaning in pain. I pressed my buzzer and a nurse finally attended to me, I told him what was happening, he called the first nurse over and said they needed the doctor. I asked for  something for the pain. I was told to just wait until the doctor came. The first nurse went to get somethings and came back with the doctor.

The male nurse asked about my pain. Doctor said that I can’t have anything for relief. I thought this meant that I was going to go back into surgery. The first nurse said that I had already had some pain relief. I said I hadn’t and that could I please have something. I was laid on my back while they poked and prodded around the stitches, I was flinching because of the pain. I was told to just lie still and to not move. I was told that I was making things worse by moving around.

I cried and cried I was screaming in pain. I said I needed something. The second nurse said he would get some paracetamol to help. He checked my chart, and saw that I hadn’t had any pain relief and that I should have had medications before. He asked the first nurse if she had given me my medications. I could see by the look, that she knew she hadn’t and that she just didn’t worry about me.

The doctor allowed my my medications, which included a blood clotting tablet. I know its because I’m black. You might not think so, but trust me, it was a black thing. All black people know the feeling. 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

