Have I told you about T’Shania?

Have I told you about T’Shania before? I can’t remember if I have but she is an incredible young lady who went to school with my son. While she was at school, he mum was diagnosed with a brain tumor and that girl kept her family together.

He father left as it was all too much for him and mum was sick the bills were piling up and she had two younger sisters. She used to sell her mum’s pain killers at school to get money to pay the rent, buy food and she drove her mum’s car while under age to make sure her sisters were at school and that they could play sports and do things that kids should do.

I don’t condone selling drugs, but that girl wanted to keep her family together and she did just that. She finished high school and is now working and has a licence. Her mum  has had a turn for the worst and is in a coma and is not expected to come out of it.

That girl is all of 21 she is working and  getting her sisters to and from school, the girls go to dance classes, and T’Shania, well, she is playing mum and is always doing for her sisters and up at the hospital with her mum. The word inspiration is over used, but to me she is just that, an inspiration. She came around to visit the other day to see how I was getting on. She told me that she is dealing with lawyers to ensure that she becomes the sole carer for her sisters, as she doesn’t want them to be uprooted and sent to the dad.

She is working with DOCS to make sure that her sisters are known to them and they can see that she is taking care of them. What a wonderful young lady. She doesn’t go out and party, she has lost her teen years being a responsible person. She is doing more than a lot of people older than her cannot manage to do.

If you are wondering about the medications, well yes she is selling them to get the extra money, but I honestly cannot blame her or condemn her for that. She is doing everything she can to keep her family together.

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a comment