Bogan Pride Day

Right on the heels of “Good will to all men” comes the hate associated with Australia Day. Yep it’s that time of the year, when the bigots can come out of hiding and start attacking anyone who is different to them.

26th of January, Bogan Pride Day, a day of thongs, beer and BBQ’s. A day to get drunk. the day to hijack the Southern Cross and use it for violence. The Southern Cross, becomes the Aussie Swastika, beware when you see it, especially on a bald head. The day has been taken over as a day for drunkenness, that’s not showing pride or unity.

Racist attacks on social media rise and it’s all in the name of patriotism. I don’t understand why a day that is supposed to unite a nation causes so much trouble. I know why Indigenous people don’t like it, if you read your history you would know too. But people who talk of the day as the start of the nation, need to read their history.  Actually have a read of the articles on IndigenousX about the day and changes to the date. http://indigenousx.com.au

Some days I dread going to the shops, you see them and you know that they are going to give you dirty looks or say something to you. The worst is that no one will help you. People just stand around and watch, maybe they don’t want to get involved, maybe they are scared. I have tried to teach my kids to laugh at the racists this time of year, because most of them while showing their true colours are only brave with others joining in the fray.

My daughter found out just how people change during the Lamb ad season. A friend of many years, posted a comment about changing the date of Australia Day. My daughter responded as to why the change should happen. She was shocked at the racial attack from this friend and other friends. She was told she should accept the fact that her people are dying out. Told to go back to the stone age.  Yep this time of year the blood boils with false patriotism and love of country. Yet these same people have no idea on the history of the country.

I am no expert on these matters but I am a bit of an expert on racism and bigotry, having copped it in large doses all my life. I think some of this can be changed if we change the date. I am at the moment leaning towards the May8 movement. A day of mateship, what could be more Australian than that.

 

About proudblacksista

An Aboriginal woman. mother of 4 diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumour 7 years ago.I want to share my story to help others. I am working to help other Aboriginal people face the battles of Cancer. Email me with your stories or concerns at aboriginalcancer.com View all posts by proudblacksista

Leave a Reply

